top of page

GIUSEPPE PEPE

And if you lose your head, how would you be?

Where is #LoosingMyMind from and why this title?

During a sunset on the beach here in Ibiza last summer, I was watching a group of young tourist engaged in their imaginary selfie. I was attracted by one in particular, because he had a mirror reflected the sunset: in a fragment of a second I saw the mirror in front of the his face that was perfectly in harmony with sky’s colors and I said myself “How would be they without a head? What kind of selfie would they do?” and from that I had a illumination, why don’t I repeat that scene impressed in my eyes?

So few days later, while I was playing with photoshop, I remembered that detail and removed the head from one of my photos. I liked the result and so I published it on Instagram with the title #LoosingMyMind.


In your photos a touch of irony coexist with ghostly atmosphere.

How do you balance the two things?

In many photos I have to give you acknowledge that you perceive that sensations, perhaps because the death fascinates me, reincarnation and the afterlife are all elements have always stimulated my imagination but at the same time I like to play with them to scorn the creativity… just to stay on the topic Lol.

It seems that your photos want to be anti-selfies: people lose their heads literally. What can you tell about us a picture without a face? And therefore how is important the body to express our emotions?

This is the heart of the project, how we would seem without the main part that makes us unique and how we would be in every day life doing always exactly the same things, communicating with our body as a perfect machine that allows us to express emotions without the head, that's what I try to communicate through these shots.



Dr. Guillotin in 1789 said, "With my machine, I'll blow your head in a jiffy." Do you feel a bit a Guillotin 2.0?

Ahaha this is beautiful.

I can tell you that the technique is different, even if the result is practically the same: there isn’t the blade to make the artifact, but takes over the photo editing ...

So is this said about me in the years to come? Ahahaha


BIO

Creative since 2002, self-made, currently Head Designer at Space Ibiza.

In love with photography, and each expression Artistic, passionate about music, djing & nightlife, collector of mugshot and stamps, lover of technology and Pantone color and Elastic Band in Photoshop.


CREDITS

Featured
Other posts
Choose a category
Search by tag
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page